The Jam - The Best Old Band in the Modern World

Noel Gallagher, Liam Gallagher and Steve Cradock, Garbage, Beastie Boys, Reef, Everything But The Girl, Buffalo Tom and Paul Weller himself are amongst the artists who have contributed to The Jam cover versions album that's been eagerly anticipated for some time now. The album, which rather aptly, is going under the title "Fire & Skill" will be released on Ignition on November 1st (in the UK) although the first fruits of its true worth can be heard on a double A-sided single due for release on October 11th (again in the UK). The double A-sided single will be Buffalo Tom's superb version of "Going Underground" and Liam Gallagher and Steve Cradock's version of "Carnation". As a mark of respect to The Jam and as a pointer to the esteem in which The Jam are held by the current crop of guitar bands, the latter is the first time Liam has recorded anything outside of Oasis. The single will be available as a two track CD and nicely late-'70s priced two track 7" single.

The full track listing of "Fire & Skill" is:

* Liam Gallagher and Steve Cradock - Carnation

* Beastie Boys - Start!

* Reef - That's Entertainment

* Heavy Stereo - The Gift

* Silversun - Art School

* Everything But The Girl - English Rose

* Buffalo Tom - Going Underground

* Garbage - The Butterfly Collector

* Ben Harper - The Modern World

* Gene - Town Called Malice

* Noel Gallagher - To Be Someone

A hidden track reveals Paul Weller's version (along with Steve Cradock) of The Jam's "No One in the World".

Liner notes have been provided by Jam-aficionado Paolo Hewitt who authored one of the definitive books on The Jam - A Beat Concerto.

Executive production and artwork for "Fire & Skill" has been provided by Simon Halfon.